Oyster Alternatives: Best EOR Providers to Switch To (2026)

Last reviewed: April 2026 · Based on pricing pages, entity-model disclosures, and cross-provider analysis of the eight providers assessed for this page

Three of the four reasons buyers leave Oyster can be fixed without leaving. That is the finding that should shape your next hour, because a provider switch is an employment event for every person you employ through it.

The fourth reason is country coverage, and that one you cannot negotiate away. If your hiring plan needs markets where Oyster uses a partner firm and you need an owned entity there, no contract clause will produce one.

We compared the eight providers assessed for this page against each of the four. Where an alternative genuinely closes a gap, it is named below. Where it does not, we say so.

Check current pricing and plans

4 providers · links may include affiliate referrals

Deel

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

Remote

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

Rippling

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

Papaya Global

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

What Oyster does that no alternative here matches

The employee-facing platform. In our assessment Oyster’s self-service experience is the best in the category, and G2 reviewers rate it above Deel, Remote and Multiplier on that dimension.

That matters more than it sounds. Your international employees touch the employer of record platform every month for payslips, leave and expenses, and they never touch the reporting your finance team is complaining about.

Oyster also charges no setup fee and no exit fee, and its Direct+ markets onboard in 48 hours against 10 to 14 days in its partner markets. Whichever alternative you choose, expect your employees to notice the change in the first week.

Why do buyers look for Oyster alternatives?

Four patterns come out of published reviews and our cross-provider work, and they arrive from four different parts of your business.

Finance raises the reporting gap, which is the weakness Oyster’s review data flags most consistently. There is no consolidated multi-country cost analytics, no real-time employer-cost dashboard and nothing a controller would call reconciliation-grade. Oyster was built for HR buyers.

Treasury raises the deposit. Oyster holds one month of gross salary per employee as a base deposit, and it can call supplementary deposits on five business days’ notice with no published cap.

That last clause is the problem, not the amount. You cannot model your cash exposure from the signed contract, because the contract does not bound it.

Operations raises the two-tier service. Oyster owns entities in the US, UK, Germany, France, India and Australia, and those markets onboard in 48 hours with direct compliance support. Everywhere else runs through partners at 10 to 14 days and variable quality.

If your hiring spans both tiers, that gap is the widest we found in this comparison. It is wider than the mixed models at Deel and Multiplier.

Procurement raises coverage. Oyster reaches 120+ countries, which beats Remote and Rippling and trails Deel and Velocity Global. If your next three hires sit outside it, the platform quality is not the deciding question.

Which Oyster problems can you fix without switching?

Three of the four. Work through these before you build a switching case, because each one costs you a negotiation rather than an employment event for every international hire.

The deposit clause is a contract term. Ask for a written cap on supplementary calls and a longer notice period than five business days. A provider that wants to keep your account will discuss both, and a refusal is itself useful information for your treasury team.

The reporting gap may be a data problem rather than a platform problem. If Oyster can export employer cost by country, entity type and worker classification, your existing business intelligence tool can build the dashboard your CFO wants. Ask for the export schema before you price a migration.

The service gap in partner markets is worth raising directly. Ask which named local firm holds the entity in each of your countries, what the escalation path is, and what the onboarding time has actually been over the last two quarters. Those three answers tell you whether the gap is structural or a staffing problem.

Coverage is the one that does not yield. If you need an owned entity in a country where Oyster uses a partner, the answer is a different provider.

Which Oyster alternative fits your trigger?

Five options, four of them providers.

If Finance is driving it

Papaya Global is the only provider here built around the finance team: consolidated payroll analytics, workforce spend visibility by country and entity type, and payment orchestration behind it.

It costs more than anything else here and holds a deposit of around two months of salary, against Oyster’s one month. Implementation runs longer too. If reporting is your only complaint, price the business intelligence route above first.

If Treasury is driving it

Remote takes no deposit at all, which removes the callable clause and the base month in one move. It owns its entities in its main markets and uses vetted local partners beyond them, across 90+ countries, so ask which of your countries falls on which side before you treat that as settled.

Coverage drops from 120+ to 90+, so check your specific markets before you commit. This is the switch that solves two of the four triggers, and it is the one we point most Oyster leavers towards.

If you need products Oyster does not sell

Deel at $599 across 150+ countries adds contractor-of-record liability transfer, IT device management and immigration support, none of which Oyster offers.

The platform is broader and the employee experience is a step down from what your people have now. Deel also holds a deposit of one to one and a half times monthly cost, so this move does not release the capital that Remote does.

If the fee is the problem

Multiplier at roughly $400 a month is the meaningful step down, and Remofirst at $199 is a bigger one. Against the $599 to $699 pair in the table below, Multiplier saves $199 to $299 per employee per month, which is $3,980 to $5,980 a month across 20 people.

That uncertainty is ours, not theirs, and the next section explains it. Both providers run leaner platforms than Oyster, and Remofirst uses partner entities everywhere.

If you have the headcount to run your own entity

Once you have 15 or more people in one country, your own legal entity plus a standalone payroll subscription removes the per-head employer of record fee completely. Oyster, Remote and Deel all sell payroll on its own at $25 to $29 per employee per month.

Our own pages give entity setup as $50,000 to $150,000 per country in one place and $5,000 to $50,000 in another, and give the timeline as three to six months. Those ranges cannot all be right, so ask a corporate lawyer and an accountant in that country to price it, and plan against their figure.

WhichPayroll view

Buyers who leave Oyster for reporting or cost reasons notice the platform downgrade in the first payroll cycle, and their employees notice it too. That cost never appears on the comparison slide.

Do not move every person you employ to solve a problem that a deposit cap or a data export would have solved. Try the negotiation first, and keep the written answers either way.

What does Oyster cost, and what do its alternatives cost?

We cannot tell you what Oyster charges, and you should know that before you use the table below. Oyster’s employer of record fee appears across our own pages as $599, $499 to $599, $599 to $699 and $699 per employee per month.

Nothing in our records supports one of those over the others, and this page is not the place to settle it. Ask Oyster for a written quote covering your countries, and use it to replace the first row.

Provider EOR price Deposit Published FX spread
Oyster $599-699/month (our own pages disagree) 1 month, plus callable amounts 1.0-1.5% (estimated)
Remote $699/month None 1-3%
Deel $599/month 1 to 1.5x monthly cost 0.5-2%
Multiplier ~$400/month 1 month salary 0.5-1.5%
Remofirst $199/month 1 month salary Not disclosed
Papaya Global $599-750/month ~2 months salary Not disclosed

Source: Provider pricing pages, verified March 2026. Oyster’s EOR price is recorded four different ways across WhichPayroll and is shown here as the widest published pair. Papaya Global appears at $650-770 on our Multiplier alternatives page.

Read the last column carefully, because it does not say what buyers expect. Oyster’s estimated 1.0 to 1.5 per cent sits inside Deel’s published 0.5 to 2 per cent and below the top of Remote’s 1 to 3 per cent.

On our own figures, switching from Oyster does not reliably narrow your currency spread and may widen it. Get the applicable rate in writing from any provider you shortlist, for the specific corridors you pay in.

The deposit column is where the difference is real. Remote at zero against Oyster’s month-plus-callable is the largest single cash swing available on this page, and it is the one your treasury team can put a number on today.

What goes wrong when you leave Oyster?

Leaving is an employment event. Oyster dismisses each of your people from its entity on the same day the new provider hires them, and five things need planning before the first letter goes out.

The deposit comes back in up to 60 days from each termination. If your new provider wants its own deposit on day one, you are funding both at once for two months, so ask your treasury team to model those two months specifically.

Your contractors need separate attention. Our own pages give Oyster’s contractor rate as $29 a month in one place and $49 in another, and Deel’s as $49. Get both numbers in writing before you move anyone, because at 20 contractors the difference between those figures is $4,800 a year.

Benefits can lapse across the two to four week changeover, and some cover only begins again after a fresh waiting period. In countries where cover is compulsory that is a real gap in someone’s health insurance, so fix the dates first.

Leave balances stay with the old employment relationship. Accrued annual leave and sick days need either a cash settlement under the Oyster contract or a manual transfer, and both need the numbers agreed in writing beforehand.

Tell your employees before the paperwork does. They have been using Oyster’s portal for payslips, leave and expenses, and they will lose it on the same day they receive a termination letter and a new contract. Say what is changing, when, and who answers their questions.

Check current pricing and plans

4 providers · links may include affiliate referrals

Deel

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

Remote

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

Rippling

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

Papaya Global

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

What buyers ask us about Oyster alternatives

How much cash does moving from Oyster to Remote actually release?

One month of gross salary for every employee, plus whatever Oyster has called in supplementary deposits. On a team of 10 at an average monthly salary of $5,000 to $8,000, that base deposit is $50,000 to $80,000.

Use your own average salary, and add the supplementary calls Oyster made over your last four quarters. Remote requires no deposit, so the whole amount comes back within 60 days of each termination.

How long does a move away from Oyster take?

Four to eight weeks from decision to completion, assuming the incoming provider is ready and your employee records are clean. Local notice periods set the pace, so Germany and France run longer because of works council involvement and strict notice rules.

Deel and Remote both offer migration support, which shortens the paperwork and not the law. Build the timeline before you sign the new contract.

How we assessed Oyster alternatives

WhichPayroll is an independent comparison site. We do not sell employer of record, payroll or contractor services. We may earn a commission from provider links, and that does not affect our editorial judgement.

We assessed the eight providers listed on this page against Oyster’s published pricing, entity-model disclosures and review data. No provider was tested as a live product.

Where our own records disagree with themselves, this page says so and tells you to get the figure in writing. That applies to Oyster’s employer of record fee, its contractor rate, and the cost of setting up your own entity.

Last reviewed: April 2026