Best of
Best EOR for South Korea
Hiring someone based in South Korea through an EOR, the filter that outranks headline price is whether the provider can prove it runs its own registered Korean entity and carries the four mandatory insurances, because there is no EOR licence and that registration is the whole of the legal test.
Labor Standards Act obligations, severance accrual and payroll withholding are then handled inside a Korean company rather than passed to a partner you never chose.
This is an attestation-tier page, and we say so plainly at the top.
We could not open the Korean business register from our tooling this pass, so every entity and registration number below is reported by the provider or by secondary sources, not confirmed by us, and we rank on service quality out of 5 rather than on ownership.
We assessed nine providers for South Korea and rank the five that clear our service bar here. Two things separate this page from a vendor listicle.
First, we do not pretend to have verified what we have not. Where a provider reports a Korean Business Registration Number we print it and tell you to check it yourself at the National Tax Service lookup, rather than dressing a reported number as a confirmed fact.
Second, we correct the cost figure the whole market gets wrong. Most Korean on-cost quotes stop at roughly 10% to 11% of social insurance and quietly drop the statutory severance accrual, which is close to a thirteenth month of pay you did not budget for.
No single provider wins every Korean hire. A senior single hire, a contractor-heavy conversion case, and a budget-led APAC rollout point at different names, so read the decision rule and the scenario picks before defaulting to the top-ranked provider.
This page ranks providers for a commercial shortlist. For how the Korean EOR model works in detail, the statutory terms, and the mechanics of severance and the four insurances, see our South Korea employer of record guide. For the cross-market view, see our best employer of record comparison.
Best EOR for South Korea 2026
9 providers assessed, 5 shortlisted, ranked on service; Korean entities reported by providers and flagged for verification, July 2026
Scores out of 5 are WhichPayroll's own editorial assessment across five weighted dimensions (set out in the methodology below), not provider-supplied ratings. This is an attestation-tier market: we did not confirm any Korean entity at the register.
Top pickDeel (4.5/5) - reported Korean entity (Deel Korea Ltd., BRN 866-87-01962, verify at the NTS lookup). Best for scale, automation and contractor volume.
Best owned-entity intentRemote (4.1/5) - attested Korean entity (Remote South Korea Ltd.); the provider reports an owned entity but no BRN was available to us. Best for direct-employer models and IP protection.
Best enterprise complianceG-P (3.9/5) - reported Korean entity (Globalization Partners Korea Ltd., BRN 139-88-00776, verify at the NTS lookup). Best for established enterprise and cautious legal teams.
Best budget APAC valueMultiplier (3.5/5) - reported Korean entity (Multiplier Technologies Korea Ltd., BRN 478-86-02388, verify at the NTS lookup). Best for cost-led APAC hiring, though its Trustpilot rating is currently suppressed.
Best unified platformRippling (3.4/5) - ranked on its global HR, IT and payroll platform; its Korean employing entity is unconfirmed and may be partner-delivered. Best for teams already standardised on Rippling.
Which EOR providers are best for hiring in South Korea?
The best EOR for a Korean hire is one that can evidence its own registered Korean entity and the four mandatory insurances, and that runs Labor Standards Act compliance and severance in-house rather than through a partner.
Because we could not verify entities at the register this pass, we scored nine providers on service across five weighted dimensions and shortlisted the five below.
Deel, Remote, G-P and Multiplier each report an owned Korean entity, and we print the reported Business Registration Number where one was available so you can check it at the National Tax Service lookup yourself.
Rippling takes the fifth slot on the strength of its global platform, with its Korean employing entity flagged as unconfirmed and possibly partner-delivered.
The comparison table prints the reported entity, the from-price, onboarding window and best-fit case for each. Every from-price is a global USD list price, not a Korean-negotiated quote, and real quotes typically fall below list at volume.
| Provider | Owns Korean entity? (reported BRN, verify at NTS) | From-price (global USD list) | Onboarding | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deel | Reported: Deel Korea Ltd., BRN 866-87-01962 (CRN 110114-0281565); verify at NTS | USD 599/mo | ~5-10 days | Scale, automation, contractor volume |
| Remote | Attested: Remote South Korea Ltd.; owned entity reported, BRN not available to us | USD 699/mo | ~5-10 days | Owned-entity intent, IP protection |
| G-P | Reported: Globalization Partners Korea Ltd., BRN 139-88-00776; verify at NTS | By quote | ~7-14 days | Enterprise and cautious legal teams |
| Multiplier | Reported: Multiplier Technologies Korea Ltd., BRN 478-86-02388; verify at NTS | USD 459/mo | ~5-10 days | Budget APAC value |
| Rippling | Unconfirmed: hybrid model, Korean employing entity not confirmed; may be partner-delivered | By quote | ~7-14 days | Teams already on Rippling |
| Oyster | Unconfirmed: Korean owned-vs-partner model not publicly specified | USD 699/mo | ~5-10 days | Platform UX, B Corp ethics |
| Pebl | Unconfirmed: hybrid model (now Pebl); Korean entity not confirmed | By quote | ~7-14 days | High-touch enterprise support |
| Papaya Global | Unconfirmed: sources indicate a partner-led model for Korea | USD 599/mo | ~10-15 days | Multinational payroll consolidation |
| RemoFirst | No owned entity: explicit in-country partner model | USD 199/mo | Partner-set | Lowest headline price, partner-delivered |
Sources: entity rows are reported by each provider or by secondary research, not confirmed by us this pass. Verify each Business Registration Number at the National Tax Service lookup and the Supreme Court IROS corporate registry before you rely on it.
From-prices are each provider's global USD list price, not Korean-negotiated quotes, which are quote-based and typically fall below list at volume. Rippling, G-P and Pebl do not publish a per-employee list price.
Oyster, Pebl, Papaya and RemoFirst are shown for completeness but not shortlisted on service for Korea: their Korean employing entity is unconfirmed or explicitly partner-delivered.
WhichPayroll view
Korea has no EOR licence, so the ownership column is where every rival page quietly guesses. We could not open the register from our tooling, and we would rather tell you that than print a reported number as a verified fact.
Ask each shortlisted provider two questions in writing: which registered Korean entity employs your staff, and whether it holds current registration for all four insurances, the 4대보험. The answers, with the BRN, are worth more than any vendor scorecard.
How do buyers rate these providers elsewhere?
Third-party ratings below are whole-company Trustpilot scores, not Korea-specific measures, so a high review count reflects overall scale rather than Korean EOR quality. Trustpilot is the one platform we treat as directly comparable across providers, matching how we handle it on our other country pages.
Read these as a coarse trust signal, not a ranking input. Our own score weights service, compliance handling and honest entity signalling, which these public review counts do not capture.
| Provider | Trustpilot score | Reviews |
|---|---|---|
| Deel | 4.6 | 8,961 |
| Remote | 4.6 | 3,265 |
| Rippling | 4.5 | 2,144 |
| G-P | 4.4 | 141 |
| Oyster | 4.0 | 268 |
| Pebl | 2.4 | 6 |
| Multiplier | Suppressed | rating withheld |
| Papaya Global | 4.1 | 56 |
Trustpilot scores and counts checked live on 9 July 2026. Multiplier's Trustpilot rating is currently suppressed: the platform shows a guideline-breach warning in place of a score, so no number is shown here.
Velocity Global rebranded to Pebl, which reset its Trustpilot profile. Its 2.4 is drawn from six reviews.
Trustpilot figures cover each provider's whole business, not its Korean EOR service alone, and drift daily, so we checked them live at source on 9 July 2026.
What does it actually cost to employ someone through a South Korean EOR?
Budget for a statutory on-cost of about 19% to 21% when you hire through a Korean EOR, then add the platform fee on top.
The figure most vendor pages quote, roughly 10% to 11% of social insurance, leaves out the single biggest Korean cost line: statutory severance, worth about one month of pay for every year of service.
That severance accrual is about 8.33% of annual salary, and adding it roughly doubles the bare social-insurance headline. On a representative KRW 100,000,000 senior salary the statutory all-in employer cost lands near KRW 118,500,000, and the fully loaded figure with a platform fee reaches about KRW 128,500,000, roughly 28.5% over base.
The National Pension line explains why the on-cost sits at the lower end of the 19% to 21% range for high earners.
Pension is capped at a monthly income ceiling, so above that ceiling the 4.75% employer rate stops rising and the effective rate falls; a lower-paid hire, uncapped, sits closer to 20% to 21% statutory.
| Cost line | Basis (2026, employer share) | On KRW 100,000,000 |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | - | KRW 100,000,000 |
| National Pension | 4.75%, capped at a monthly income ceiling | ~KRW 3,517,000 |
| National Health Insurance | 3.595% of gross | KRW 3,595,000 |
| Long-Term Care Insurance | ~0.47% of gross (levied on the NHI premium) | ~KRW 472,000 |
| Employment Insurance | 1.15% to 1.75% (size and industry); 1.15% used | KRW 1,150,000 |
| Industrial Accident Insurance | Employer-only, ~1.47% average (0.6% to 18.6% by industry) | KRW 1,470,000 |
| Social insurance subtotal | ~10.2% on-cost | ~KRW 10,204,000 |
| Statutory severance accrual | ~8.33% (one month's pay per year of service) | ~KRW 8,330,000 |
| Statutory all-in employer cost | ~18.5% on-cost | ~KRW 118,534,000 |
| EOR platform fee | USD 599/mo (~KRW 9,919,000/yr at ~1,380 KRW/USD) | ~KRW 9,919,000 |
| Fully loaded via an EOR | ~28.5% over base | ~KRW 128,453,000 |
Sources: employer contribution rates from the National Pension Service, National Health Insurance Service, Ministry of Employment and Labor and COMWEL; severance from the Labor Standards Act; model scaffold, WhichPayroll internal fully-burdened cost model.
Rates and the pension ceiling are pending confirmation at the primary source; the FX rate of ~1,380 KRW per USD is an assumption.
The reason the true cost is higher than the "just 10% social insurance" figure is severance. Korean law requires a retirement allowance of at least 30 days' average pay for each year of service, payable on any exit after one year, so it accrues from day one whether or not it is pre-funded.
A quote that omits it understates the real employer cost by roughly a month of salary a year. Fund the severance accrual from the start, and ask your provider whether it holds the accrual or expects a lump sum at exit.
Cost comparison
Fully loaded annual cost of one KRW 100,000,000 Korean hire
The bare social-insurance figure vendors lead with is about KRW 10,200,000, near 10%. Add the statutory severance accrual and the honest statutory on-cost is about KRW 118,500,000 all-in, near 18.5% here and closer to 20% to 21% for a lower-paid, uncapped hire.
Add the platform fee and the fully loaded figure reaches roughly KRW 128,500,000 a year, about 28.5% over base salary. Treat the per-employee fee as a list-price upper anchor and ask each provider for a won-denominated quote.
Which 2026 South Korean statutory figures must your EOR apply?
South Korea's headline is four mandatory insurances plus a statutory severance accrual, with no 13th-month salary and no national minimum wage exemption for EOR staff. The 2026 figures below give your People and Finance teams one liftable block, and they are where most vendor pages still run stale 2025 numbers.
| Item | 2026 statutory position |
|---|---|
| National Pension (employer) | 4.75% of gross, capped at a monthly income ceiling; total 9.5% split with the employee |
| National Health Insurance (employer) | ~3.595% of gross; total ~7.19% split with the employee |
| Long-Term Care Insurance (employer) | ~0.46% to 0.47% of gross, levied as a percentage of the NHI premium |
| Employment Insurance (employer) | 1.15% to 1.75% depending on company size and industry |
| Industrial Accident Insurance | Employer-only, ~1.47% average, ranging 0.6% to 18.6% by industry |
| Statutory severance | At least 30 days' average pay per year of service, payable on exit after 1 year; ~8.33% accrual |
| Minimum wage | KRW 10,320/hour from 1 January 2026 (KRW 2,156,880/month at 209 hours); the 2025 rate was KRW 10,030 |
| Annual leave | 15 days after 1 year with 80% attendance, rising with tenure to a maximum of 25 days |
| Notice | 30 days, or 30 days' pay in lieu, for staff with over 3 months' service |
| 13th-month / mandatory bonus | None; bonuses are discretionary unless set by contract |
| Dismissal standard | "Justifiable cause" required; at-will dismissal is not recognised |
Sources: National Pension Service, National Health Insurance Service, Ministry of Employment and Labor, COMWEL, and the Labor Standards Act. Rates and the pension ceiling are pending confirmation at the primary source, verified against 2026 secondary reporting July 2026.
The one figure most competitor pages still get wrong is the minimum wage. The KRW 10,030 an hour many pages quote is the superseded 2025 rate; from 1 January 2026 the statutory minimum is KRW 10,320 an hour, or KRW 2,156,880 a month at the standard 209-hour month.
The second is the 13th month: Korea has none, so any page that implies a mandatory annual bonus is wrong. Check that your provider has loaded the 2026 wage and has not baked a phantom 13th month into its quote.
What are the South Korean legal traps an EOR must handle?
The decisive trap is contractor misclassification, and a 2026 reform is expected to shift the burden of proof onto the employer, presuming that a worker is an employee unless you can show otherwise. That single change is the most important 2026 development for any contractor-heavy setup, and it is where an EOR earns its fee.
Why the 2026 burden-of-proof shift changes the contractor decision
Korean courts already apply a substance-over-form test under the Labor Standards Act, looking past the contract label to whether a "subordinate relationship" exists.
The factors are employer control, set working hours and place, economic dependence on one company, and integration into the business, and a genuine freelancer who works like an employee can be reclassified today.
A 2026 legislative change is expected to go further and shift the burden of proof to the employer, presuming employment unless the company can affirmatively prove genuine independence.
We could not confirm the exact date and scope from primary sources this pass, so treat it as a strong signal to firm up now rather than a settled rule.
This is where an EOR earns its place: it employs the worker directly under a compliant Korean contract, so the classification question does not arise for that hire. If you are converting long-standing contractors, move before the reform lands rather than after.
Where misclassification penalties and enforcement bite
Misclassification in Korea is not a single fine but a cascade of liabilities. A reclassified worker triggers back payment of wages and allowances, both the employer and employee shares of unpaid social insurance, full severance, and personal income tax exposure, potentially across the entire engagement.
The criminal edge is real too: failure to pay wages or severance can carry up to three years' imprisonment or a fine of up to KRW 30 million. Enforcement is rising, with the Ministry of Employment and Labor planning to inspect 90,000 business sites in 2026 and shifting to targeted, complaint-driven audits.
The gap most pages leave is that these liabilities are not capped or predictable; they scale with the length of the misclassification. Price the risk as open-ended, not as a fixed penalty you can budget around.
What the licence question means for your shortlist
South Korea has no EOR-specific licence, so any provider claiming to be "licensed" as an EOR is describing something that does not exist. The real test is ordinary company registration plus current enrolment in the four mandatory insurances, the 4대보험.
You can check a provider's legal existence at the Supreme Court's IROS corporate registry and its Business Registration Number at the National Tax Service, though both portals are primarily in Korean.
What you cannot verify from a registry is ongoing compliance with withholding, severance funding and insurance enrolment, so that remains an attestation to test with the provider.
Treat "we are compliant" as a claim to evidence, not a fact you can confirm from a public register. Ask for the BRN and proof of current 4대보험 enrolment before you shortlist.
Why Is Deel the Best Overall EOR for South Korean Hires?
Deel is the top pick for Korea because it pairs a reported Korean entity with the broadest automation and contractor tooling on the shortlist. For a team hiring at volume or converting contractors ahead of the 2026 classification reform, that combination does the most work in one place.
Why we ranked Deel first for South Korea
Deel reports a Korean entity, Deel Korea Ltd. (딜코리아 유한회사), under Business Registration Number 866-87-01962 and Corporation Registration Number 110114-0281565. We did not confirm this at the register, so verify the BRN at the National Tax Service lookup before you rely on it.
On service, Deel scored the highest composite on our assessment, driven by scale, automation and contractor volume. Its platform depth suits messy cases, so a contractor-to-employee conversion, a mixed workforce, or a multi-country rollout does not need a separate vendor bolted on for the Korean leg.
Where Deel falls short for South Korea
Deel is not the cheapest way into Korea. At USD 599 a month its from-price sits at the top of the featured tier alongside Remote, and like every price here it is a global list figure rather than a Korean quote.
The bigger caveat is the one that applies to this whole page: we did not verify Deel's Korean entity at the register, and the BRN is reported rather than confirmed. Ask Deel to confirm which entity employs your staff and that it carries current 4대보험 enrolment.
From price: USD 599/mo global list · Onboarding: ~5-10 days · Entity: reported, Deel Korea Ltd., BRN 866-87-01962 (verify at NTS) · Licence: no EOR licence exists in Korea
Full Deel review · Deel pricing breakdown
When Is Remote the Best EOR for Owned-Entity Intent?
Remote is the right pick when your legal team prizes a clean direct-employer chain and strong IP protection, and when the Korean hire is straightforward enough that you do not need a service-heavy specialist. Remote reports an owned Korean entity, though the registration number was not available to us.
Why we ranked Remote second for South Korea
Remote attests that it employs in Korea through its own entity, Remote South Korea Ltd. (리모트사우스코리아 유한회사), which fits its global direct-employer model. No Business Registration Number was available to us, so the entity is attested rather than reported with a number, and we mark it as such.
Remote's owned-entity philosophy, where it is the direct statutory employer rather than routing through a local partner, is what IP-sensitive buyers generally prefer. It keeps the assignment-of-inventions and confidentiality chain inside one entity you can name.
Where Remote falls short for South Korea
The evidence gap is wider than Deel's here. Remote reports an owned entity but gave no BRN we could check, so you are relying on an attestation with less to verify against, and you should ask Remote for the registration number directly.
Breadth is also thinner than Deel's. Remote runs a strong owned-entity platform, but for a large multi-country programme with heavy contractor conversion, Deel's automation does more of the heavy lifting.
From price: USD 599/mo global list · Onboarding: ~5-10 days · Entity: attested, Remote South Korea Ltd. (BRN not available, request it) · Licence: no EOR licence exists in Korea
Full Remote review · Remote pricing breakdown
Why Is G-P the Best EOR for Enterprise and Cautious Legal Teams?
G-P is the pick for established enterprise programmes where a long operating history and heavyweight legal support matter more than the lowest price. It reports an owned Korean entity, and its enterprise posture suits teams that want process over speed.
Why we ranked G-P third for South Korea
G-P reports a Korean entity, Globalization Partners Korea Ltd. (글로벌리제이션파트너스코리아 유한회사), under Business Registration Number 139-88-00776, consistent with its global owned-infrastructure strategy. We did not confirm this at the register, so verify the BRN at the National Tax Service lookup.
For a large organisation that wants documented compliance and a cautious legal footing, G-P's established posture is the differentiator. It is built for programmes where legal review and audit trails outrank a few hundred dollars a month in fee.
Where G-P falls short for South Korea
G-P publishes a list rate of USD 599 per employee per month and quotes enterprise pricing separately, and onboarding runs around 7 to 14 days, slower than the self-serve specialists. The service can feel heavier than a single Korean hire needs.
As with every entity on this page, the Korean registration is reported, not confirmed by us. Ask G-P to confirm that the Korean entity is the employing entity and that it carries current 4대보험 enrolment.
From price: by quote · Onboarding: ~7-14 days · Entity: reported, Globalization Partners Korea Ltd., BRN 139-88-00776 (verify at NTS) · Licence: no EOR licence exists in Korea
Full G-P review · G-P pricing breakdown
When Is Multiplier the Best EOR for Budget APAC Value?
Multiplier is the pick when cost is the deciding factor for an APAC-focused hire and you will verify the entity yourself. It reports an owned Korean entity and undercuts the USD 599 tier, but its Trustpilot rating is currently suppressed, which we keep separate from the entity question.
Why we ranked Multiplier fourth for South Korea
Multiplier reports a Korean entity, Multiplier Technologies Korea Ltd. (멀티플라이어테크놀로지스코리아 유한회사), under Business Registration Number 478-86-02388, and its APAC-first model is built for exactly this region. We did not confirm this at the register, so verify the BRN at the National Tax Service lookup.
At USD 400 a month its list price undercuts Deel and Remote by a third, which matters for a cost-led rollout. For a straightforward Korean hire where budget leads and you are willing to do your own entity check, it earns a place on the shortlist.
Where Multiplier falls short for South Korea
The service signal is weaker than the leaders'. Multiplier's Trustpilot rating has recently been suppressed, showing a guideline-breach warning in place of a score, so the public trust signal is missing and its cell on this page is pending verification rather than a number.
Keep that reputation question separate from the entity question: the reported Korean entity is a distinct issue from the suppressed rating, and neither is confirmed here. Ask Multiplier both to confirm its Korean BRN and to explain the Trustpilot suppression before you commit.
From price: USD 459/mo global list · Onboarding: ~5-10 days · Entity: reported, Multiplier Technologies Korea Ltd., BRN 478-86-02388 (verify at NTS) · Licence: no EOR licence exists in Korea
Full Multiplier review · Multiplier pricing breakdown
When Is Rippling the Right EOR for Teams Already on Rippling?
Rippling is the right choice when your company already runs HR, IT or payroll on Rippling and wants to add a Korean hire without a second platform.
It takes the fifth slot on the strength of that global platform, with its Korean employing entity flagged as unconfirmed. If you do not already use Rippling, the EOR-only case for Korea is weaker.
Why we ranked Rippling fifth for South Korea
Rippling scores well on service through its unified HR, IT and payroll platform, which is a genuine advantage for teams already standardised on it. Adding a Korean hire inside a system you already run removes a second vendor and a second data silo.
We rank it on that platform strength rather than on Korean ownership, because its model mixes owned entities and local partners and its Korean structure is not specified. That honesty is why it sits fifth rather than higher.
Where Rippling falls short for South Korea
The Korean employing entity is unconfirmed and may be partner-delivered, so the compliance chain could run through a third party you did not choose. Pricing is also by quote, with no published per-employee list price, so procurement cannot benchmark it without a proposal.
The unified platform is only an advantage if you use it. Buying the EOR module alone removes the HR-plus-IT integration that is Rippling's main reason to exist, and it leaves you with an unconfirmed Korean entity and no offsetting fee saving.
From price: by quote · Onboarding: ~7-14 days · Entity: unconfirmed, may be partner-delivered (confirm the employing entity) · Licence: no EOR licence exists in Korea
Full Rippling review · Rippling pricing breakdown
Which cheaper or niche providers should you weigh, and when?
Four more providers earn a look by switching logic, not by ranking, because each fails or complicates the Korean entity test in a way you must weigh against its appeal. Choose one only when its specific advantage outranks the entity caveat that comes with it.
RemoFirst, only when the lowest headline price wins
RemoFirst is the cheapest option on this page at USD 199 a month, and it is explicit about how it delivers: through vetted in-country partners rather than its own Korean entity. That transparency is a point in its favour, but it means the legal employer is a third party.
The trade is that you are trusting a partner you did not choose with Labor Standards Act compliance, severance funding and the four insurances. That is reasonable only when price is the single deciding factor and the hire is low-risk.
Oyster, Pebl and Papaya, capable platforms with an unconfirmed Korean entity
These three are competent global platforms, but none publicly specifies whether Korea is served through an owned entity or a partner, and some sources put Papaya on a partner-led model for the region.
Oyster also carries the highest featured list price at USD 699 a month, so its platform polish comes at a premium on a straightforward hire.
The shared limitation is the same: an unconfirmed Korean employing entity, which is exactly the gap this page is built to expose. If one of them fits for platform or consolidation reasons, make confirming the Korean employing entity, with a BRN, a condition of signing.
How did we score EOR providers for South Korea?
We weighted five dimensions for Korean buyer fit, and because this is an attestation-tier market, service and compliance handling carry more weight than an ownership claim we could not verify. A wide global country count matters less here than credible Labor Standards Act compliance and honest disclosure of the Korean structure.
Service and compliance handling (30% weight). Can the provider credibly run Korean payroll, withholding, severance accrual and the four insurances, and handle the substance-over-form classification test? This carries the most weight in a market with no licence to lean on.
Entity transparency and evidence (25% weight). Does the provider report a Korean entity with a checkable Business Registration Number, and is it honest about owned versus partner delivery? We reward disclosure you can verify over an unevidenced "we own it".
Korean employment depth (20% weight). Does the provider handle Korean severance, notice, leave accrual and the 2026 classification risk natively, rather than treating Korea as one row in a global grid?
Pricing transparency and value (15% weight). Is the from-price published and flat, or hidden behind a quote? We rate transparent pricing above quote-only models, because it lets a buyer budget without a sales call.
Onboarding speed (10% weight). How fast can the provider onboard a Korean hire compliantly, from a few days to two weeks?
WhichPayroll view
Most "best EOR in South Korea" pages rank on brand size, quote the superseded KRW 10,030 minimum wage, imply a 13th month that does not exist, and print reported entities as verified facts.
We would rather give you three things you can act on: the reported BRN to check at the register yourself, the honest flag that we did not verify it, and the real cost, near KRW 128,500,000 all-in on a KRW 100,000,000 salary once you count the severance the vendors drop.
Frequently asked questions
Does an EOR in South Korea need a licence?
No. South Korea has no EOR-specific licence, so a provider claiming to be "licensed" as an EOR is describing something that does not exist. The real requirement is ordinary company registration, evidenced by a Business Registration Number, plus current enrolment in the four mandatory insurances, the 4대보험.
You can check a provider's legal existence at the Supreme Court IROS registry and its BRN at the National Tax Service, though both are primarily in Korean. Ongoing compliance with withholding, severance and insurance enrolment cannot be read off a register, so treat it as an attestation to test.
How much does it cost to employ someone in South Korea in 2026?
Budget for a statutory on-cost of about 19% to 21% through a Korean EOR, then add the platform fee. The bare social-insurance figure is only about 10% to 11%; the difference is the statutory severance accrual of about 8.33%, worth roughly one month of pay per year of service, which most quotes omit.
On a representative KRW 100,000,000 salary the statutory all-in cost is about KRW 118,500,000, and the fully loaded cost with a USD 599 a month platform fee reaches roughly KRW 128,500,000, about 28.5% over base.
National Pension is capped at a monthly income ceiling, so the on-cost sits at the lower end of the range for high earners and nearer 20% to 21% for lower-paid, uncapped staff.
What is changing for contractor classification in South Korea in 2026?
A 2026 legislative change is expected to shift the burden of proof onto the employer, presuming a worker is an employee unless the company can prove genuine independence. Korean courts already apply a substance-over-form test under the Labor Standards Act, and this reform would tilt the default further toward employee status.
We could not confirm the exact date and scope from primary sources, so treat it as a strong signal to firm up contractor arrangements now. For contractor-heavy setups, converting through an EOR before the reform lands removes the classification question for those hires.
Is there a statutory 13th-month salary in South Korea?
No. Korean law does not mandate a 13th-month salary or any guaranteed annual bonus, so any vendor page implying one is wrong. Bonuses are discretionary unless set by the employment contract.
The line that does behave like an extra month of pay is statutory severance, a retirement allowance of at least 30 days' average pay per year of service, payable on exit after one year. Fund that accrual from the start rather than treating it as a surprise at termination.
Which EOR providers own a local South Korean entity?
Deel (reported BRN 866-87-01962), G-P (reported BRN 139-88-00776) and Multiplier (reported BRN 478-86-02388) report owned Korean entities with a Business Registration Number, and Remote attests to an owned entity but did not provide a BRN we could check.
We did not confirm any of these at the register this pass, so verify each BRN at the National Tax Service lookup.
Rippling, Oyster, Pebl (formerly Velocity Global) and Papaya do not publicly confirm a Korean owned entity and may deliver through partners, and RemoFirst is explicit that it uses in-country partners. Make confirming the employing entity, with a BRN, a condition of signing.
What is the minimum wage in South Korea in 2026?
The statutory minimum wage from 1 January 2026 is KRW 10,320 an hour, or KRW 2,156,880 a month at the standard 209-hour month. That is a 2.9% rise on the 2025 rate.
The KRW 10,030 an hour figure many pages still quote is the superseded 2025 rate. An EOR that pays the old rate underpays from day one, so confirm the 2026 figure is loaded before the first pay run.
Methodology and disclosure
We assessed nine EOR providers for South Korea and shortlisted five, ranking on service across five weighted dimensions. This is an attestation-tier page: we could not open the Korean business register or the IROS corporate registry from our tooling this pass, so no entity below is confirmed by us.
Every Korean entity and Business Registration Number on this page is reported by the provider or by secondary research, not verified.
Where a BRN was available we print it and direct you to check it at the National Tax Service lookup; where none was available, as with Remote, we mark the entity as attested and tell you to request the number.
Statutory figures were taken from Korean primary bodies where possible: the National Pension Service, National Health Insurance Service, Ministry of Employment and Labor and COMWEL for contribution rates, and the Labor Standards Act for severance, notice, leave and the minimum wage.
Exact 2026 rates and the National Pension income ceiling are pending confirmation at the primary source and are flagged in the page.
From-prices are each provider's global USD list price, not Korean-negotiated quotes; actual Korean pricing is quote-based and usually negotiates below list at volume. The cost model uses an assumed FX rate of about 1,380 KRW per USD, which should be re-checked before use, and treats severance as an accrual rather than a monthly cash cost.
Third-party review scores are whole-company Trustpilot figures, not Korea-specific, folded from a live-verified master set checked live on 9 July 2026. Multiplier's rating has recently been suppressed and Pebl's has reset under the Pebl rebrand, both noted on the page.
Honesty on entities. We did not verify a single Korean entity at the register this pass, and we say so rather than dress reported numbers as confirmed. Every ownership line here is a claim to test with the provider, backed by a BRN you can check yourself.
Scoring. The WhichPayroll South Korea Score out of 5 is our editorial composite across the five weighted dimensions published above (service and compliance 30%, entity transparency and evidence 25%, Korean employment depth 20%, pricing transparency 15%, onboarding speed 10%). It is our assessment, not a provider-supplied rating.
Disclosure. WhichPayroll earns affiliate commissions from some providers listed on this page. Affiliate relationships do not influence rankings, inclusion criteria, or editorial assessments.
Providers cannot pay for placement or review outcomes, and we did not receive preferential pricing or early access. We did not independently test live Korean payroll or verify any entity at the register, and provider claims about entity ownership and compliance are attestations, not independently verified.
Published July 2026 · Updated July 2026