Data verified
Multiplier vs Remofirst
Both of these providers reached your shortlist because Deel and Remote priced themselves off it.
Multiplier publishes $459 per employee per month on annual billing. Remofirst publishes $199. Both fees buy the same basic thing: the provider becomes the legal employer of your staff in a country where you have no company, and charges you for it on top of salary and local employer taxes.
Price is one of three things that decide this. The second is who does the employing. Multiplier says its own legal entities do, and Remofirst says plainly that it owns none, so a local partner is the employer in every country.
The third is what each provider puts in writing before you sign. Remofirst’s $199 has a published no-fees line under it. Multiplier’s $459 has three further charges sitting in a separate terms document, none of them priced.
We re-read both pricing pages, Multiplier’s EOR terms and Remofirst’s published FAQ at source on 6 August 2026. Two figures this page carried in May had stopped being true, including its headline one.
How Do Multiplier and Remofirst Compare Head-to-Head?
Score, published price, entity model and country coverage settle most shortlists, so those sit at the top. Our disclosure index scores what a provider publishes, which is why two very different products finish a tenth of a point apart. Product detail and contract terms sit in the feature grid below.
| Compared |
MMultiplier
|
RRemofirst
|
|---|---|---|
| Score (WhichPayroll disclosure index, /10) | 6.3recomputed 16 Aug 2026: coverage 30%, pricing transparency 25%, security 25%, integrations 20% | 6.4same weights, same recompute date |
| EOR price (published) | $459per employee / month, billed annually. $499 month to month. Growth tier $519 / $559 | $199per employee / month, from. No annual commitment required |
| Contractor management | $40/contractor/month, billed annually | Free basic tier; $25/contractor/month to process payments |
| EOR country coverage | 160+ claimed | 185+ claimed |
| Entity model | Claims owned legal entities across its whole 160+ country footprint. Publishes no register naming any of them | States a 100% partner network and no owned entities anywhere |
| Onboarding speed claimed | 72 hours or less in most countries, once documents are in | No published figure |
| G2 rating | 4.7/5 (1,868 reviews)from our May 2026 sample; G2 blocks automated re-checks, so treat it as dated | 4.7/5 (~700 reviews)same sample, same caveat |
| Best fit | Teams past 20 international hires who need equity, HR records and payroll in one place | Teams in single figures where the platform fee is the argument |
The verdict
Choose Multiplier if
You are past twenty international hires and want employment, HR records and equity admin under one contract. Or your hiring is concentrated in Asia-Pacific.
Or you want a provider that answers for a payroll error itself. See our Multiplier review.
Choose Remofirst if
Budget decides this and you are hiring in single figures. No setup fee, no minimum, no termination fee, contractors managed free. Our Remofirst review sets out how the partner chain works day to day.
Ten employees on annual billing: $55,080 a year with Multiplier against $23,880 with Remofirst, a gap of $31,200. Both are platform fees only; the last FAQ sets out what salary and employer taxes add on top of each.
How Do Multiplier and Remofirst Compare Feature by Feature?
Multiplier offers more of almost every product line here. The block worth reading twice is the last one. Five of its six rows come from a terms document one link away from the pricing page your quote is built from.
| Feature |
Multiplier
|
Remofirst
|
|---|---|---|
| Employer of record | ||
| Entity register published | No | Not applicable; it claims none |
| Country pricing exceptions | About 11% of countries priced differently, list not published | “May vary based on local country requirements” |
| Contractors | ||
| Payment processing | Included in the $40 management fee | $25 per contractor / month, on top of the free tier |
| Contractor of Record | Separate product; $400 on the card, $399 in the FAQ below it | Not offered |
| Payroll and Europe | ||
| Payroll on your own entities | From $20 per person / month, billed annually | Offered; no published price |
| Non-resident employer payroll | 10 European markets | Not offered |
| HR, integrations and add-ons | ||
| HR records | Employee records, self-service and document management | A workforce management screen |
| Share-scheme administration | Handled in-platform | Points you at outside tooling |
| Health insurance | Country benefits administration, quoted | RemoHealth, from $55 per person / month |
| Visas and permits | Own immigration support, 140+ countries claimed | RemoVisa, 110+ countries |
| Background checks | +$6 one-off, on every product card | Included free on the contractor tier |
| Commercial terms, which is where this gets interesting | ||
| Setup or implementation fee | “Implementation fee as applicable”, amount unpublished | None, stated on the pricing page |
| Security deposit | Required before each contract; Multiplier sets the size | Nothing published |
| Minimum commitment | Seats bought in whole months and non-refundable whether used or not | No minimum term, no minimum headcount |
| Part-month billing | Whole month charged regardless of joining or leaving date | Not stated |
| Payment processing fee | Charged every payroll cycle; amount not on the pricing page | Not stated |
| Support hours published | 24/5 | 24/7 on one page, 24/5 on another |
We took that bottom block from Multiplier’s EOR terms document, effective 1 June 2026. Remofirst’s column is thin there because it publishes almost nothing to put in it.
If your quote comes off the pricing page, those five rows are the ones to put in front of the sales rep before signature. Ask for each amount as a figure, in the order form.
One row needs a word of explanation. Contractor of Record is a separate Multiplier product, and it is why a $400 figure sits on the same pricing page as the $459 employer-of-record rate.
Multiplier’s card says $400 and its own FAQ below says $399. Check which product and which of those two numbers a quote is built on.

What Are the Key Differences Between Multiplier and Remofirst?
Three differences decide this, and only one of them is the price.
Who carries the employment risk. Multiplier states that it is the legal employer through entities it owns; Remofirst states that it never is, anywhere. So when a partner gets something wrong, your remedy travels through Remofirst’s contract with a company you have never met.
Legal will ask who indemnifies whom, and with Remofirst that answer runs one contract further away. The compliance section below sets out what each side publishes to back its position.
What you can find out before signing. Remofirst publishes its price and states that nothing sits behind it. Multiplier publishes a price and then, in a separate terms document, an implementation fee, a per-cycle payment processing fee and a deposit it sizes itself.
All three sit in Multiplier’s published terms, one link from the pricing page, so nothing here is concealed. None of the three carries an amount, so a budget built off the pricing page has three holes in it and a sales rep decides how big they are.
Price. $459 against $199, charged per employee, so the gap grows in a straight line with headcount. The verdict card above prices ten hires; the pricing section prices five, twenty and fifty.
Which of the three decides it depends on who signs. Finance sees the fee every month. Legal sees the employment chain once, at contract review, and can stop the purchase there.
WhichPayroll view
The deposit is the part of this comparison we got wrong until this pass.
A security deposit is money you hand over before anyone starts, held against unpaid invoices and refunded when you leave. This page reported Multiplier’s as roughly one month’s gross salary per hire. Multiplier’s own EOR terms do not say that.
They say the deposit is “calculated by Multiplier based on the Resource Costs, Service Fees, termination notice periods… the Client’s credit standing, and other variables, as determined by Multiplier from time to time at its sole discretion”, and that it can be revised later and must be topped up on request.
So there is no figure to model. On ten hires at $80,000 average salary, one month’s gross would tie up about $67,000, and that is worth knowing as an order of magnitude. Treat it as an illustration and get your own number in writing.
Remofirst publishes nothing about a deposit in either direction. Ask for the answer in writing before you count the saving.
Full fee structures: Multiplier pricing and Remofirst pricing.
What Does Multiplier Bring to This Comparison?
Multiplier brings the deeper product, and the longer list of terms that comes with it. You get employer of record at $459 a head on annual billing, payroll on your own entities from $20, contractor management at $40, and a non-resident payroll option in ten European markets.
Take share-scheme administration. If you grant equity to people employed abroad, someone has to track vesting and withhold the right tax in each country. Doing that outside the payroll platform means a spreadsheet somebody owns and nobody checks.
The platform is Singapore-built and Asia-Pacific-first, and that is where its reviewers are warmest. In our May 2026 G2 sample of 1,868 reviews, the complaint that recurs is slow resolution of country-specific questions outside Asia-Pacific.
We did not code that sample by country, so it is a pattern we noticed with no measured rate behind it. If your hiring is European, test it in the demo with a real question and time the answer.
Germany is the question to bring. The AUG is the German permit for hiring out workers, and an employer-of-record arrangement usually counts as hiring out.
Without that licence the employment contract can be ruled invalid and the worker treated as your own direct employee, with the back taxes and penalties landing on you. Ask Multiplier which entity holds the licence, and note that its own no-partner claim means the answer should name a Multiplier company.
What Does Remofirst Bring to This Comparison?
Remofirst is the cheapest published rate in this comparison. $199 per employee per month, 185+ countries claimed, contractors managed free, and a pricing page that states there are no setup, onboarding or termination fees, no annual contracts and no minimums.
It achieves that by employing nobody itself. Every country has a preferred local partner plus a backup, described by Remofirst as businesses that have run local payroll for 20+ years and collectively process over $30 billion.
That is Remofirst’s account of its own supply chain, and we have no way to audit it. It is at least printed on the pricing page, so Legal meets the partner model at the shortlist stage.
The product around it is deliberately thin: a workforce management screen, health insurance from $55, visas in 110+ countries, background checks. If you need equity administration or deep HR integrations, you will be buying them somewhere else.
How Do Multiplier and Remofirst Compare on Features: Platform Depth vs Operational Simplicity?
If your workforce is contractor-heavy, start with Remofirst’s free contractor tier. Twenty contractors cost nothing to manage on Remofirst and $800 a month on Multiplier.
That is $9,600 a year before a single employee is hired. On a five-person team it is more than a third of Multiplier’s $27,540 annual employee bill, which is enough to reverse a decision the per-employee rate looked to have settled.
Add payment processing at $25 a contractor and Remofirst’s twenty cost $6,000 a year, still $3,600 under Multiplier. The free tier is genuinely free for onboarding and contracts; you pay when you want Remofirst to move the money.
The premium buys something specific for three kinds of team: those granting equity, those running an HR system they want fed automatically, and those scaling into Europe. Multiplier’s non-resident employer payroll lets you register as a foreign employer and run local payroll without setting up an entity in ten markets.
Multiplier does not publish a price for that product. The often-quoted saving of roughly 40 percent against full employer of record comes from its own October 2025 launch release, describing early pilots, so treat it as a vendor figure and model it on your quote rather than ours.
Our read: with ten contractors, five employees and an HR stack that lives in Notion, Remofirst is the right size for the job. Past twenty employees with equity in the mix, the workarounds start costing more than the fee gap saves.

How Do Multiplier and Remofirst Compare on Pricing: $459 Premium vs $199 Floor?
Multiplier costs 2.3 times what Remofirst costs on the published employer-of-record rate, and the multiple holds at every headcount because both price per employee.
We priced three team sizes on annual billing. Five employees: $27,540 with Multiplier against $11,940 with Remofirst.
Twenty: $110,160 against $47,760. Fifty: $275,400 against $119,400.
Those Multiplier figures assume you commit for a year. Month to month it is $499 a head, which turns the twenty-person number into $119,760.
Against Remofirst’s $47,760 that is a gap of exactly $72,000, and Remofirst asks for no annual commitment to hold its rate.
| Annual platform fee, billed annually | Multiplier | Remofirst |
|---|---|---|
| 5 employees | $27,540 | $11,940saves $15,600 |
| 20 employees | $110,160 | $47,760saves $62,400 |
| 50 employees | $275,400 | $119,400saves $156,000 |
| 20 contractors, managed only | $9,600 | $0$6,000 if you want payments processed |
What those numbers leave out. Neither provider publishes its foreign-exchange spread. Both convert your money into local salaries and both keep a margin on the conversion, and you will not find the percentage on either pricing page.
We removed a spread figure from this page in this pass because we could not source it. Ask both providers for the number in writing; it is one of the few costs that scales with total payroll rather than headcount.
Two Multiplier terms belong in your model and are easy to miss, because both live in the terms document. The service fee is charged for the whole month whoever joins or leaves mid-month, and again in the month a final settlement is processed.
The second concerns seats. Buy them on an order form instead of a quotation and they are non-refundable whether you fill them or not.
Below twenty hires with contractors in the mix, the arithmetic above settles it for Remofirst. Above twenty in Asia-Pacific, Multiplier’s depth starts buying the premium back, and the three unpublished fees decide how much of it you keep.

How Do Multiplier and Remofirst Compare on Compliance: an Owned-Entity Claim vs an Admitted Partner Chain?
Multiplier says it is the legal employer everywhere it operates and publishes nothing that lets you check it. Remofirst says it employs nobody anywhere, and publishes the partner structure that follows from that.
Multiplier states that it “operates through owned legal entities in 160+ countries with no third-party partner dependency in the employment chain”. If that holds, it removes a link from the chain, and a shorter chain is worth paying for.
We could not check it. Multiplier publishes no register: no entity names, no country-level ownership status, no dates. Its own materials vary between 150+ and more than 160 countries depending on the page.
So we report it as a claim. We also removed the “100+ owned entities” figure this page used to carry, having failed to evidence it.
Multiplier’s own employer-of-record page markets against providers who claim country counts padded with unnamed partners. A provider making that argument is the one you would expect to publish the register that settles it.
Remofirst describes the model instead: a preferred local partner in each country, with a backup behind it. If a partner’s compliance slips, your remedy routes through Remofirst’s contract with them. That is a longer route, and Remofirst sets it out on its own pricing page.
For your shortlist paper, ask both the same question in writing: name the employing entity in each country we are hiring in. On its own account Multiplier should be able to answer that easily, and whether it will is worth learning before the paper goes in.
How Do Multiplier and Remofirst Compare on Country Coverage: 150 Markets vs 185 Markets?
Remofirst claims 35 more countries, and for most buyers the gap is irrelevant. Both cover the standard footprint of the UK, Germany, India, Singapore, Australia, Brazil and Mexico, so the difference only bites in smaller African markets, Central Asia and the Pacific.
That 35-country gap is part of why Remofirst scores 6.4 against Multiplier’s 6.3 on our disclosure index, which weights published employer-of-record coverage at 30 percent. Pricing disclosure does more of the work: Remofirst scores 5.0 there against Multiplier’s 2.5, and Multiplier takes almost all of that back on security and integrations.
The index measures what a provider publishes. It carries no weighting for who holds the employment risk, so the higher score here sits with the provider holding less of it.
Read the compliance section before either number goes into a shortlist paper. Then put your own target list to both and ask which entity employs in each country on it.
How Do Multiplier and Remofirst Compare on Support: 24/5 Stated vs 24/7 Claimed?
Multiplier publishes 24/5 on its employer-of-record and contractor cards, which means Saturday and Sunday are not covered. Remofirst advertises 24/7 on its pricing page and 24/5 on its own employer-of-record page, and has not reconciled the two.
We would ask which figure applies to your plan and have it written into the order form, with the escalation path for a payroll problem found on a Saturday.
Both assign a named contact from day one and both sit at 4.7 out of 5 on G2. Remofirst’s reviewers praise speed and note that hard country questions get relayed to the partner, which is the partner chain turning up inside a support ticket. Multiplier’s regional pattern is in its own section above.
Multiplier claims onboarding in 72 hours or less in most countries once documents are in. Remofirst publishes no equivalent figure. If you need an offer letter signed by Friday, Multiplier is the only one of the two with a published number you can hold it to.
Which Should You Choose: Multiplier or Remofirst?
The first bullet in each column is the one that usually decides it on its own.
Choose Multiplier when
- You grant equity to people employed abroad and do not want vesting and withholding tracked in a spreadsheet outside payroll.
- Your hiring is concentrated in Singapore, India, the Philippines or Australia, where the platform was built and the reviews are strongest.
- You are putting 5 to 10 people into one European market and non-resident payroll is worth quoting against full employer of record.
- Legal has told you a partner-only chain is not acceptable, and a stated owned-entity model, even unevidenced, clears the bar.
Choose Remofirst when
- Procurement will challenge the platform fee, and Remofirst hands you a published number with a stated no-fees line under it to answer with.
- Your mix is contractor-heavy: twenty contractors managed free against $9,600 a year swings the total before employees are counted.
- You need a total Finance can sign off before contract, and the platform depth Multiplier sells is depth you would not touch for two years.
When neither is right
- Your legal team needs the employing entity named per country in writing. Neither publishes a register, and Remote does own its entities.
- You need one platform for global hiring and US payroll together. Deel and Rippling do that; neither of these does.
- You are hiring one or two people in one country and expect to stay there. Both are priced for a footprint you do not have; an entity may be cheaper within two years.
What Are the Best Alternatives to Multiplier and Remofirst?
Each of these is the switch for one specific reason to leave this pairing.
Leaving on the entity question
- Remote is the switch when Legal will not accept a claim it cannot check. At $599 per employee per month paid annually it costs 30 percent more than Multiplier’s $459 on the same annual terms, or 40 percent more paid monthly ($699 against $499). It covers 90+ countries against 160+, and it names its own employing entities in its main markets, with vetted partners beyond them.
Leaving because you outgrew the HR side
- Deel is the switch when you want hiring, contractors, US payroll and HR in one system. It publishes $599 for employer of record and 130+ countries on that card, though its own homepage says 150+. Compare it directly in our Multiplier vs Deel comparison.
Leaving because IT is part of the problem
- Rippling is the switch when device management and access control belong in the same system as payroll. It bundles employer of record with HR, payroll and IT provisioning, and publishes no employer-of-record rate at all, so budget from a quote.
Two more routes are worth naming. If you are leaving Multiplier purely on price, Remofirst is the destination this page already argues for. If you are leaving Remofirst because the partner model failed a procurement review, Multiplier against Remote is the comparison to read next.
Both providers change their published rates. Open each one and check the figure against the date on this page.
Multiplier
Official provider site
$459 on annual billing when we checked, on the Core employer-of-record card. The $400 further down that page is Contractor of Record, a different product.
Remofirst
Official provider site
$199 when we checked, with the no-fees statement in its own FAQ.
WhichPayroll is independent and reader-supported. Provider links may be affiliate links where programmes are live. We never accept payment for editorial placement or rankings.
Multiplier vs Remofirst: Frequently Asked Questions
Is Remofirst really less than half the price of Multiplier?
On the published rate, yes. Remofirst lists $199 per employee per month. Multiplier lists $459 on annual billing and $499 month to month, so the answer holds whichever way you commit.
Total cost moves in both directions from there. Multiplier’s unpriced implementation fee and per-cycle payment processing fee narrow the gap; a contractor-heavy mix widens it, because Remofirst manages contractors free.
Does Multiplier really own entities everywhere it operates?
It says so, and nobody outside Multiplier can confirm it, which is why the compliance section above reports its owned-entity footprint as a claim.
Remofirst states that it owns no entities anywhere and never has, which is why this page treats its partner chain as established and Multiplier’s entity footprint as unverified.
What is Multiplier’s non-resident employer payroll, and can it replace employer of record in Europe?
In ten European markets, yes. You register with the local authorities as a foreign employer and run payroll there directly, without incorporating a subsidiary and without a provider standing in as employer.
No price for it is published anywhere, including by Multiplier, and the widely quoted 40 percent saving is a vendor pilot figure, as the features section above explains. Get a quote against full employer of record in your specific country before you build a case on it. Remofirst has no equivalent product.
Do the $459 and $199 include employer taxes and benefits?
No. Both are platform fees for the service. The employee’s gross salary, the statutory employer contributions in their country and any benefits you offer all sit on top, and you pay them through the provider.
Those contributions are the larger number in most countries. Germany’s statutory employer share alone runs about 21 percent of gross salary before accident insurance, and the country you hire in moves your total far more than the platform fee does.
Get a country-level total-cost quote from both before you compare fees at all. Our EOR cost benchmark sets out what each provider does and does not disclose.
Our Methodology: How We Compared Multiplier and Remofirst
WhichPayroll is independent and sells neither of these services. For this pass we read Multiplier’s pricing page, its employer-of-record page and its EOR terms effective 1 June 2026, plus Remofirst’s pricing page and published FAQ, all at source on 6 August 2026.
Customer-experience figures come from our May 2026 G2 sample: Multiplier 1,868 reviews, Remofirst around 700. We may earn a commission from provider links. That has no bearing on what this page recommends.
Disclosure-index composites are recomputed from published coverage, pricing transparency, security certification and integration depth, last on 16 August 2026. Cross-provider context draws on our wider coverage: Multiplier review, Remofirst review, Multiplier pricing, and Remofirst pricing.
Last reviewed: 6 August 2026.
What changed on 6 August 2026
Multiplier’s employer-of-record price was $400 on this page. It is $459, and $400 has not disappeared: it is now the rate on Multiplier’s Contractor of Record card, a different product on the same pricing page.
Every cost scenario here has been recomputed on $459. Global payroll moved from $29 to $20, contractor management from a $29 to $40 range to a flat $40, and the “100+ owned entities” claim and both Trustpilot scores have been removed as unevidenced.
If you read this page before today and built a budget from it, the twenty-person Multiplier figure you took away was $96,000. It is $110,160.
Two pieces of our own research sit behind the cost arguments here. Our EOR cost benchmark tracks published fee ranges and how much of each provider’s pricing model is disclosed at all.
Our EOR versus entity break-even benchmark works out, across 40 countries, the headcount at which incorporating beats paying either of these providers. If you are heading past thirty hires in one country, read that one first.