Safeguard Global Pricing

ReviewedAugust 2026
Reading time14 min
Alex Harrington
Last reviewed: August 2026 · Based on Safeguard Global’s own website, which publishes no EOR rate, plus third-party pricing analyses, G2 review data, and verified press releases

Safeguard Global publishes no employer-of-record price. There is no pricing page on its website, no rate on its employer-of-record page, and no cost calculator. We checked all three on 6 August 2026.

Your cost is whatever the proposal says, shaped by country mix, headcount, and benefits requirements.

Figures of $499, $650 and $699 a head all circulate on review sites, and one analysis stretches the range to $1,200. Earlier versions of this page carried $499 as Safeguard’s published floor. It is not Safeguard’s number, and neither is the $650.

We cannot trace either to anything the company publishes, so read them as other people’s estimates, not as a budget line.

Add employer taxes (15-45% of salary depending on jurisdiction), an undisclosed FX spread on every payroll cycle, and optional managed benefits.

The gap between the seat fee you are quoted and your Finance team’s monthly reconciliation grows fast.

This page breaks down every cost component we could verify, models a worked scenario, and compares Safeguard Global against the seven other providers reviewed here.

What Does Safeguard Global Cost?

View the provider's latest pricing, plans, and setup details.

Safeguard Global

Official provider site

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

External link. WhichPayroll may earn a commission.

What does Safeguard Global charge?

Starting price and billing model

Safeguard Global does not publish a price list, a rate card, or a starting figure for EOR. The $499/employee/month number that appears on G2 and third-party review sites has no original source we can find in Safeguard’s own material, and the company has never confirmed it. Every EOR engagement is custom quoted.

What Safeguard does publish, in full, is its contractor management pricing. That contrast is the most useful thing on this page. The company can print a rate when it wants to, and on EOR it chooses not to.

The table below separates what Safeguard publishes from what only third parties assert.

Product Published price Billing model
EOR / GEO (standard markets) Not published; third parties report about $499 Per employee, monthly, custom quoted
EOR / GEO (complex jurisdictions) Not published; third parties report $650 or more Per employee, monthly, custom quoted
Contractor Management (1-10) $10/contractor/month Per contractor, monthly
Contractor Management (11+) $5/contractor/month Per contractor, monthly
Managed Benefits Quote-based add-on Custom
Background checks $50-$250 per check Per check, country-dependent
Work permits and visas $2,000-$6,000 per case Custom per case
Global Payroll No longer offered Sold to Deel, March 2025

Source: Safeguard Global’s own site for the contractor rates and the product line-up, plus G2 and third-party review sites for the EOR figures Safeguard does not publish. Checked 6 August 2026. Every EOR number here is somebody else’s estimate, not a Safeguard rate.

What drives the quote higher

Country complexity moves the quote before headcount does. In complex jurisdictions like Brazil, Germany, or France, and in the markets Safeguard serves through local partners rather than its own staff, buyers report materially higher numbers. That is where the $650 in circulation comes from.

Safeguard does not publish which countries sit on which side of that line, so you will not know in advance which one your hire falls into.

Volume discounts of 10-15% are reported at 25+ employees on annual contracts. Apply that to a $650 quote and you land near $550 to $585. But a percentage off an unpublished list price tells you nothing on its own, so ask for the undiscounted rate and the discount as two separate numbers in writing.

The quote process itself adds time to your evaluation. Expect a discovery call within 2-3 business days, followed by a custom proposal 5-7 business days later.

If you are running a competitive procurement with deadlines, factor in 1-2 weeks for Safeguard Global’s quoting cycle.

What does the Safeguard Global fee include?

Core EOR coverage

The base EOR fee covers the core employment infrastructure: compliant employment contracts generated for each jurisdiction, payroll processing and tax filings, statutory benefits enrolment and administration, leave management, onboarding and offboarding coordination, local-language HR support, compliance monitoring, and access to the GEO platform.

That is a reasonable inclusion set, and it matches what Deel at $599 a month and Multiplier at $459 on an annual commitment include at the same layer. The difference is that you can read their numbers before a sales call.

The platform also handles payroll in 180+ currencies and provides workforce analytics through the GEO dashboard.

The advisory layer

What distinguishes Safeguard Global from cheaper providers is the advisory layer. Your team gets access to HR advisors who speak local languages and work local time zones.

For a mid-market company without in-house international HR expertise, that advisory access can prevent expensive compliance mistakes.

For a team that already has strong in-house People Ops, you are paying for a service layer you may not use.

What costs sit on top of Safeguard Global’s fee?

The base fee is the starting point of your cost, not the total. Every item below is real, recurring, and rarely discussed before contract signature.

Employer taxes and FX spreads

Employer taxes and social contributions. These are pass-through costs, not Safeguard charges, but they are the largest variable in your total employment cost.

In Germany, employer contributions add roughly 21% on top of gross salary.

In France, they can reach 45%. In Brazil, approximately 30%. In the UK, employer NICs add 13.8%.

Your first invoice will include these. If your Finance team has budgeted only for the platform fee plus gross salary, the conversation will be uncomfortable.

FX spreads. Safeguard Global does not publicly disclose its FX methodology or spread. When your funding currency differs from the local payout currency, a markup applies on every payroll cycle.

Third-party estimates suggest all employer-side costs combined can add 20-40% above base pay. Request written FX documentation during your evaluation.

If the provider will not disclose the spread, build a conservative buffer into your cost model.

Country and partner-network uplifts

Country complexity uplifts. Whatever base rate you are quoted will apply to standard markets only.

Complex jurisdictions attract higher fees. Brazil, Germany, and France are commonly flagged for uplifts.

If your hiring plan includes these countries, the custom quote will reflect it, but you will not know the uplift amount until the quote arrives.

Partner-network markups. Safeguard Global states coverage of 187 countries on its own employer-of-record page, and publishes no split between the countries it employs through directly and the countries it serves through local partners. Third-party analyses put the owned-entity count at roughly 30, which would leave around 157 on partners, but we cannot trace that split to anything Safeguard publishes either.

In partner countries, there may be an intermediary markup embedded in the fee. The per-employee cost in a partner country is often higher than in an owned-entity country, and the service delivery chain is longer.

Benefits, checks, and permits

Managed benefits. Statutory benefits are included. Anything beyond statutory minimums, such as private health insurance, supplementary pension, or life insurance, is a quoted add-on.

If your benefits package exceeds statutory requirements, request a separate benefits quote.

Background checks and work permits. Background checks run $50-250 per check depending on country.

Work permits and visas cost $2,000-6,000 per case. Neither is included in the base EOR fee.

Cost modelling

What one German employee actually costs on Safeguard Global

Gross salary: €70,000/year (€5,833/month). Employer contributions: approximately €1,225/month (21% of gross).

Platform fee: assume $650/month, the figure third parties report for a complex jurisdiction, which is roughly €600, plus an undisclosed currency-conversion margin. Monthly total: approximately €7,660.

The platform fee represents roughly 8% of the actual monthly cost. Put the full figure in front of Finance, not the seat fee.

How does Safeguard Global compare on price?

Where it sits in the market

You cannot place Safeguard Global on a price table, because it does not publish a price. On the third-party figures in circulation, $499 to $650 depending on country, it would sit mid-band. The caveat is the answer.

On those figures it would sit above Remofirst at $199 and Multiplier at $459 on an annual commitment, or $499 month to month, below Deel at $599 and Remote at $699, and level with Papaya Global, which cut its published EOR rate to $499 in July 2026. Papaya used to be the expensive end of this table. It is not any more.

The real differentiator is pricing transparency: Safeguard Global requires custom quotes where most competitors publish fixed rates.

Provider EOR price Pricing model Contractor price
Safeguard Global Not published Custom quote required $10/month (1-10)
Deel $599/month Published, fixed $49/month
Remote $699/month Published, fixed $29/month
Multiplier $459/month billed annually, $499 monthly Published, fixed $40/month
Oyster $699/month Published, tiered $29/month
Pebl (formerly Velocity Global) Not published Custom quote Quote-based
Papaya Global From $499/month Published, tiered $5/month
Remofirst $199/month Published, fixed $25/month

Source: each provider’s own pricing page, checked 6 August 2026, except Safeguard Global and Pebl, formerly Velocity Global, which publish no EOR rate. All prices exclude employer taxes, salary, and FX costs.

Total cost of ownership

Run the arithmetic on both circulating figures and you will see why neither is safe to budget from. At $499 a head, Safeguard would save a 15-person team $18,000 a year against Deel at $599, because $100 a head across fifteen heads for twelve months is $18,000.

Now run it at $650. Safeguard is then $51 a head a month above Deel, which is $612 per employee a year, and the saving has gone the other way. Two widely repeated numbers, $1,812 per employee a year between them, and nothing on Safeguard’s website to tell you which one describes your deal.

The more useful comparison is total cost of ownership. Safeguard Global’s advisory layer and managed benefits may eliminate the need for a separate HR advisory contract or benefits broker.

If you are currently spending $2,000-5,000/month on external HR advisory for international markets, the cost differential narrows or disappears.

WhichPayroll view

Safeguard Global’s pricing opacity is the biggest obstacle to fair evaluation. You cannot build an accurate business case without a custom quote, which takes 1-2 weeks to obtain.

Request a detailed fee schedule that breaks out base fee, country uplifts, FX methodology, benefits add-ons, and any partner-network surcharges before committing evaluation time.

Is Safeguard Global worth the cost?

When it earns its premium

Safeguard Global is worth the cost when your organisation needs advisory depth alongside EOR infrastructure.

If you are hiring across 10+ countries, need managed benefits beyond statutory minimums, and lack in-house international HR expertise, the advisory layer delivers genuine value that cheaper providers do not include.

Safeguard Global states 187 countries, the widest figure any provider on this site claims, ahead of Papaya Global’s stated 180+. If your hiring plan includes markets where Deel at 130+, Remote at 90+, or Multiplier at 150+ have limited or no coverage, Safeguard Global fills that gap. It will not tell you which of the 187 it employs through directly.

The 17 years of operating history also matters in complex labour markets where provider experience translates directly into faster onboarding and fewer compliance surprises.

When a cheaper provider fits

Safeguard Global is not worth the cost when your needs are straightforward.

If you are hiring in 2-3 standard European markets, do not need managed benefits, and have a People Ops team that handles advisory internally, you will pay a premium for services you will not use.

Remofirst at $199 a head will serve you for a fraction of the cost, and Multiplier publishes $459 billed annually, or $499 month to month. Both print the number on the website, which is the part that matters when Finance wants a budget this week.

The question for your procurement team: does the advisory and managed benefits layer save you more than the cost premium over a transparent, self-serve provider? If yes, Safeguard Global earns its place.

If you cannot quantify that saving, the premium is harder to defend.

For the full platform assessment, see our Safeguard Global review. For alternatives, see Safeguard Global alternatives.

Where Can You Check Safeguard Global's Latest Plans and Prices?

View the provider's latest pricing, plans, and setup details.

Safeguard Global

Official provider site

See current pricing, plans, and how setup works.

External link. WhichPayroll may earn a commission.

Safeguard Global pricing FAQ

Frequently asked questions

What does Safeguard Global EOR cost per employee?

Safeguard Global does not publish an EOR price, so there is no honest answer without a quote. The $499 and $650 figures on review sites do not trace to anything Safeguard publishes. Complex jurisdictions like Brazil, Germany, or France attract the highest quotes.

FX spreads are additional and the methodology is not publicly disclosed.

Does Safeguard Global publish its pricing?

No. Safeguard Global requires custom quotes for all EOR engagements. The $499/month figure appears on third-party review sites, but your actual price will depend on a discovery call and proposal process that typically takes 1-2 weeks.

Competitors like Deel at $599 and Remote at $699 publish fixed pricing.

Can you negotiate Safeguard Global’s pricing?

Yes. Volume discounts of 10-15% are reported at 25+ employees on annual contracts. Since Safeguard publishes no list price, a percentage discount means nothing until you have the undiscounted number in writing, so ask for both.

There is room to negotiate further on multi-year commitments or large headcounts.

The main limitation is contractual lock-in.

Does Safeguard Global still offer global payroll?

No. Safeguard Global sold its global payroll division to Deel in March 2025. If you need standalone global payroll alongside EOR, you will need a second vendor.

Safeguard Global now focuses on EOR (GEO), contractor management, managed benefits, and HR advisory.

What is the total cost of one employee in Germany on Safeguard Global?

For a €70,000 salary, the all-in monthly cost is approximately €7,660.

That is €5,833 of gross pay, roughly €1,225 in employer social contributions (21% of gross), and a $650 platform fee, about €600, which is the figure third parties report for a complex jurisdiction rather than one Safeguard publishes. An undisclosed currency-conversion margin sits on top of all three.

Take the salary out and what Safeguard Global charges you comes to approximately €21,900 a year, being the platform fee and the contributions it administers. There is no headline figure to fall back on, and Germany is exactly the market where the circulating $499 would not have applied anyway.

How Did We Verify Safeguard Global's Pricing?

WhichPayroll is an independent comparison site. We do not sell EOR, payroll, or contractor services.

We may earn a commission from provider links. This does not affect our editorial judgement.

We checked Safeguard Global’s own website for a published EOR rate on 6 August 2026 and found none, then cross-read G2 pricing data, third-party review site analyses, and press releases including the March 2025 payroll division sale to Deel.

We cross-referenced cost components against user reviews and industry analyses published in 2025-2026.

We modelled cost scenarios using published starting prices and estimated pass-through costs based on country-specific employer tax data.

Safeguard Global was not tested as a live product. Because the company publishes no EOR rate, every EOR figure on this page is third-party information. Custom quotes may differ materially from the figures shown.

What changed on 6 August 2026. This page used to present $499 per employee per month as Safeguard’s published floor. It is not Safeguard’s number.

There is no pricing page on safeguardglobal.com, no rate on its employer-of-record page, and no calculator. We read Safeguard’s own XML sitemap on 6 August 2026 and none of its 2,709 URLs is a pricing page, so we have relabelled every use of $499 and $650 as a third-party estimate. We also stopped stating that Safeguard runs owned entities in about 30 of its 187 countries, because that split is a third-party count too and Safeguard publishes no owned-versus-partner breakdown at all.

Three competitor prices had gone stale as well. Multiplier is $459 billed annually and $499 month to month, not roughly $400, because $400 is Multiplier’s contractor-of-record rate rather than its EOR rate.

Remote displays $699, where we had $599. And Papaya Global cut its published EOR rate to $499 in July 2026, down from the $650 and above we had shown, which reverses the old claim that Safeguard undercut it.

FX spreads could not be independently verified as the methodology is not publicly disclosed.

Last reviewed: August 2026